23.

Self-care is one of the most important things I’ve learned to do for myself. It means different things to different people, but to me, it means holing up in my basement by myself, with some comfort food or snacks, since I tend to eat my feelings, and usually bingeing on a show or watching some fluffy movies.

Books also help, unless I’m too in my head to concentrate. Fluffy, usually animated, movies are generally best though. I don’t have to concentrate much, and they’re funny. Simple and short is a good way to go.

I also usually turn my phone on silent, since the thought of people freaks me out. The occasional text can send me reeling when I’m already at a point of needing self-care.

It helps that my husband works strange hours. I get the alone time that I need, when I need it, and he’s here when I need him around, and to help me get out of my head. I think he’s probably the only person who really gets what I’m going through, even if he doesn’t understand it completely.

Today I’m practicing self-care. I had a really bad last two days, and now I’m spending today alone, just watching movies and bingeing on some tv. I have other things to do, but today, nothing is getting done, because I’m putting myself first.

Leave a Reply

