14.

It’s no secret that I love makeup. It’s been my one true passion, since I was a child. To look at me you’d think I like attention. I have teal blue hair, bright blue eyebrows, wear crazy colored lipsticks, and all of the colors on my eyes, in strange places. Really though, I hate having attention focused on myself.

I wear the crazy things, because one, makeup is fun and it washes off, and two, it’s a creative outlet. I love keeping it weird. I don’t mind the stares I get, mostly from children, and the comments, mostly from adults. My favourite comments are when people compare me to a mermaid, and really that’s such a compliment!

I love not wearing makeup also. Most of the time I go makeup free, and it feels great to be able to rub my eyes, or touch my face without worrying about smearing my eyebrows or mascara. But I look forward to the days when I leave the house and have to pick which colors to wear, or where to put them. It’s just so much fun to play with color.

Sometimes though, I wear it as a mask. If I’m not comfortable around someone, I can put on a face and hide behind it. It’s almost a wall, put up until I’m comfortable enough to let you see the real me. The one that’s neurotic, and anxious, and sad, and a bit crazy. She’s the one not quite confident enough to go without her mask, so she makes it pretty, and weird, and colorful, to distract from the real crazy.

One thought on “14.

Leave a Reply

